Establishment of the Museum

In 1972 – the works began, the building of Dohn’s fortress was assigned.

In 1972-1973 – the draft and estimate documentation on restoration of the fortress and conversion it into the Museum was worked out by the Institute of Civil Engineering and Planning.

From 1974 till 1978 the restoration works on fronts, interior decorations had been made by building and restoration organizations, and the adjoining territory had been improved.

The artistic setting of exposition was performed by design centers of Leningrad branch of RSFSR Art Foundation (the authors of the project are Khozatsky and Elenevskaya). There were made the showcases, the lighting fittings, colour stained-glass windows, mosaics and sculpture for fountains, ceramic floor vases for inner and external yards, still lives, etchings, amber articles, colour slides and photographs.

Kaliningrad Amber Museum was established as the museum of one mineral. In its exposition amber is viewed in correlation of different sciences: palaeontology, mineralogy, geology, geography, archaeology, history, natural science. The aim of the museum – is to systemise natural scientific, historical and cultural, historical and art criticism knowledge of amber.

The exposition is arranged on 3 floors in 28 show-rooms, by total area of 1000 squire meters. It contains 5 sections:

About 10 years ago the sculpture for fountain was created by Robert Derbentsev.

Very important event in the Museum’s fate occurred in May 2003 – it acquired the status of self-supporting cultural institution. This date has become the starting point of new life-style of the museum, and, consequently, its role and importance on the cultural map of the city has changed.